5 Things…

Top five lessons i’ve taken away from Design Studio 1 this semester

  1. Time management skills:  Using the bullet journal proved to be useful for organising my days, when trying to fit in both my work she dual and study for uni. I got lazy with it in the end but I do plan to bring it back into my life, with a few adjustments to the structure to fit myself.
  2. Escaping resistance: The Steven Pressfield reading on resistance in week two was really insightful into my own practice as well as understanding others. When reading through the text I could easily find many points applicable to myself and useful ways to tackle them. I think i’ll keep that reading close by.
  3. Steal like an artist: Being something I think we all do subconsciously, It was definitely and important lesson in knowing where your influences are coming from and how you can best engineer and utilise ‘stolen’ skills, ideas, ect and take them to another level.
  4. Self promotion: Something I’ve been wanting to get ontop of, Learning how to promote not only myself but others. Looking at who your targeting, how to get their attention, owning your niche! As well as, Improvising and experimenting with online marketing.
  5. Fans as workers: This idea that was presented in the Jeremy Wade Morris reading in week 8, of fans willing submitting some kind of work of their own to an artist that they are a fan of, was interesting to me. Something I didn’t think would work, however, Imogen heap clearly uses this marketing technique to her advantage. Not only that fans would submit their work, but that they do it in a complementary manner, just wanting to be apart of the process of the art/music that they love.

Leave a comment